Say Hello to Kim!

No,  this is not goodbye. I am simply pursuing my own culinary ambitions as well as helping the Sweet Heather Anne ladies do some baking in the back ( so expect some new flavors and delicious cookies.) I have truly loved working with all our wedding couples and clients. I want to introduce Kim, the new business manager. She is amazing, comes with a wealth of knowledge, a great sense of humor and a true love of cake.  I sat down to ask her a few questions so you could get to know her better. Image(photo by Melanie Reyes Photography)

What is your perfect Sunday? My perfect Sunday, luckily enough, is what I usually get to do–I like to sleep in (even though sleeping in for me is really only until 9) until the thought of getting up and being able to have coffee and read gets me out of bed.  I like making a big brunch while I play some music, and then, while I eat, I flip through cookbooks to look for something new to cook.  Sundays are my Saturdays, so I usually end up making a Sunday dinner and having friends over for Girls and staying up as late as I want because I don’t have to get up early the next day.  There’s usually an episode of Mystery Science Theater 3000 and a nap sometime in there, too.  As I write this, I realize that it sounds largely sleep-centric. Oh, well, I do love a good sleep.

What is your favorite thing to bake or cook? Despite having been a professional baker, I really prefer cooking.  I love to make soup-it’s warming, communal, and is fun to tweak as flavors develop, besides being a damn fine way to clean out the fridge without looking like you’re trying to pass off your fridge garbage.   I also like making things that I’ve never made before–my family’s joke is that if the recipe starts with “day one,” it’s a Kim recipe.  And anytime I can coax a lot of flavor out of a less expensive cut of meat through long slow cooking, I consider it a personal victory.

If you could travel to one place tomorrow? Hmm, because we’re saying “tomorrow” and it’s currently mid-January in Michigan, I’d say that right this minute I pick Hawaii–only because I imagine it’s the Hawaii of the 60’s where Don Draper went and it’s bright and kitchy and warm.  Otherwise, lame as it is, my favorite spot in the world is at my parent’s cabin in Northern Michigan, in a lawn chair with a drink, watching the ducks on the lake.  I sound roughly 89 years old saying that, but there it is.

Weird question, what is your favorite smell? My favorite smell is a mystery flower that comes out in the spring, right after everything is all thawed and you’re starting to have hope that it’s not going to be grey forever.  They bloomed somewhere near my first apartment and I would smell them on the way to my car, and it’s all mixed up with feeling independent and excited and just right, and every once in a while, I catch that smell again and I feel the same way.

What’s your favorite hang out? I don’t have a regular hang out, really–a friend and I have a culinary adventure club where we hit somewhere we’ve never been every other week–but if I had to pick a go-to grab a beer spot I’d have to pick the Old Town.  I like that it’s pretty low key, has big booths and weird old portraits on the wall  and a fine club sandwich.  That, plus the fact that I usually run into someone I know, makes it my default when I have to pick a place because no one can decide.

Three words to describe your work style/ethic? Do the words organized efficient perfectionist paint a bad picture?  It sounds kind of stuffy, but I just like everything to be in it’s place and working like a well-oiled machine.  Maybe everyone is like that, there can’t be too many people that like things to go wrong.  So there’s your three words, plus a bucket of extra ones.

One thought on “Say Hello to Kim!

  1. Welcome ! We are so glad that you will be joining the Sweet Heather Anne team. You will meet us, hopefully in the near future as we have not ventured over to see Heather in a while. I too like making soup, and usually bring a pot over with us when we come. Cheers! Julie and Fred Leavitt

Leave a Reply

